Last reviewed: 13 September 2026
UK–Oman trade reached £1.8 billion in calendar 2025, while Oman recorded the United Kingdom as its largest source of foreign direct investment. Those two facts are both true, but they measure different things. Trade is a flow during a period; FDI stock is the accumulated value of a direct-investment position at a date. Goods, services, local subsidiary sales, project values and investment announcements must also be kept separate.
This article provides a reproducible evidence base for the wider United Kingdom–Oman business relationship. It uses the UK Department for Business and Trade factsheet released on 31 July 2026 and Oman’s official FDI release for the end of 2025. It states the period beside every major number because calendar-year and rolling-year results currently point in different directions.
The latest UK–Oman trade snapshots
| Measure | Calendar 2025 | 12 months to end-Q1 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Total UK–Oman trade | £1.8bn; up £134m or 8.1% | £1.7bn; down £109m or 6.1% |
| UK exports to Oman | £1.3bn; up £78m or 6.6% | £1.1bn; down £187m or 14.7% |
| UK imports from Oman | £541m; up £56m or 11.5% | £600m; up £78m or 14.9% |
| UK trade balance | Approximately +£700m | +£485m, down from +£750m a year earlier |
The apparent shift from 8.1% calendar-year growth to a 6.1% rolling decline is not a contradiction. The rolling comparison incorporates the first quarter of 2026 and drops the first quarter of 2025. It also reflects revisions and component movements. For operating decisions, businesses should use the period closest to their sales cycle and check the underlying monthly or quarterly data where volatility matters.
Trade from 2016 to 2025
| Year | Total trade | UK exports | UK imports | UK balance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | £1.8bn | £1.6bn | £0.2bn | +£1.4bn |
| 2017 | £4.0bn | £3.6bn | £0.4bn | +£3.2bn |
| 2018 | £1.9bn | £1.6bn | £0.3bn | +£1.3bn |
| 2019 | £1.5bn | £1.1bn | £0.4bn | +£0.7bn |
| 2020 | £1.2bn | £0.9bn | £0.3bn | +£0.7bn |
| 2021 | £1.0bn | £0.8bn | £0.2bn | +£0.6bn |
| 2022 | £1.1bn | £0.9bn | £0.2bn | +£0.6bn |
| 2023 | £1.6bn | £1.2bn | £0.4bn | +£0.9bn |
| 2024 | £1.7bn | £1.2bn | £0.5bn | +£0.7bn |
| 2025 | £1.8bn | £1.3bn | £0.5bn | +£0.7bn |
Three conclusions are more defensible than a simple growth narrative. First, UK exports exceeded imports in every year shown. Second, bilateral trade recovered from its 2021 low but had not returned to the exceptional £4.0 billion recorded in 2017. Third, 2017 is an outlier, not a normal baseline. The summary series does not identify the transaction or product mix that caused the spike, so it should not be attributed to a particular project without commodity-level evidence.
Goods and services: the latest composition
| 12 months to Q1 2026 | Value | Share or change |
|---|---|---|
| Total goods trade | £903m | 53.6% of total trade; down 5.8% |
| Total services trade | £782m | 46.4% of total trade; down 6.3% |
| UK goods exports to Oman | £485m | 44.7% of UK exports; down 18.6% |
| UK services exports to Oman | £600m | 55.3% of UK exports; down 11.2% |
| UK goods imports from Oman | £418m | 69.7% of UK imports; up 15.2% |
| UK services imports from Oman | £182m | 30.3% of UK imports; up 14.5% |
| UK goods balance | +£67m | A relatively narrow surplus |
| UK services balance | +£418m | The principal source of the total UK surplus |
The service component is commercially important, especially on the UK export side. Yet these figures are not a complete measure of British service activity in Oman. Balance-of-payments trade includes cross-border supply, consumption abroad and movement of people, but it does not include all sales made by an Omani subsidiary of a UK group. That “commercial presence” is normally analysed through affiliate or investment statistics.
What does the UK sell to Oman?
| Top UK goods export | Value | Share | Year-on-year change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanical power generators | £140.7m | 29.0% | −32.1% |
| General industrial machinery | £60.2m | 12.4% | +66.8% |
| Cars | £28.5m | 5.9% | −29.8% |
| Scientific instruments | £23.1m | 4.8% | −24.9% |
| Miscellaneous electrical goods | £21.5m | 4.4% | −29.6% |
The product mix supports a practical opportunity around industrial after-sales service. Generators, machinery, instruments and electrical systems create demand for commissioning, calibration, inspection, spare parts, training, software and maintenance. The fall in several large categories also warns against extrapolating from a single year. General industrial machinery grew strongly while the largest category contracted.
What does the UK buy from Oman?
| Top UK goods import | Value | Share | Year-on-year change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Refined oil | £212.2m | 50.8% | +32.7% |
| Mechanical power generators | £79.6m | 19.0% | −26.3% |
| Non-ferrous metals | £43.5m | 10.4% | Not reported in the summary table |
| Other road vehicles | £15.2m | 3.6% | Not reported in the summary table |
| Miscellaneous electrical goods | £13.8m | 3.3% | Not reported in the summary table |
Refined oil alone represented just over half of UK goods imports from Oman in the latest period. This concentration means that commodity prices and individual shipments can materially change the annual total. Non-ferrous metals point to a possible route for Oman’s industrial diversification, but a product category does not prove that every proposed mining or processing project is commercially operating.
How large is the UK market share in Oman?
In 2024, the UK supplied an estimated 2.9% of Oman’s total imports: 1.7% of imported goods and 6.6% of imported services. All three shares were lower than in 2023. The United Kingdom was Oman’s 78th-largest trading partner in the latest UK ranking, accounting for approximately 0.1% of total UK trade.
This is the central commercial tension. Institutional ties and investment are deep, while the market remains small in UK-global terms and the UK’s share of Omani purchases is modest. The case for entry must therefore be sector- and customer-specific. It cannot rest on bilateral history alone.
How many UK businesses trade goods with Oman?
HMRC estimates that around 2,200 UK VAT-registered businesses exported goods to Oman in 2025, while around 300 imported goods from Oman. These counts are rounded to the nearest 100 and exclude businesses below VAT-registration thresholds. They do not measure services exporters and do not show how many businesses maintain a subsidiary or office in Oman.
The counts still challenge a common misconception: the corridor is not limited to a few oil majors. It contains a long tail of product exporters, although the distribution of sales among those firms is not disclosed. Companies should avoid interpreting the count as evidence that market entry is easy or evenly profitable.
Foreign direct investment: the largest headline
| Oman FDI indicator at end-2025 | Value |
|---|---|
| Total FDI stock in Oman | RO31.4bn |
| Annual growth | 8.1% |
| UK-origin FDI stock | RO16.42bn |
| UK share of total FDI stock | 52.3% |
| Oil and gas extraction, all origins | RO25.4bn; 80.9% of total FDI |
| Manufacturing, all origins | RO2.67bn |
| Financial intermediation, all origins | RO1.50bn |
The UK is clearly the largest source country in the Omani series. It is also reasonable to infer that energy is a major driver because oil and gas extraction dominates the total FDI base and major UK-linked energy positions are visible. But the published release does not justify saying that a precise percentage of UK FDI is in energy. Country and sector totals should not be cross-tabulated without the underlying matrix.
Preliminary National Centre for Statistics and Information figures reported for Q1 2026 put UK-origin FDI at approximately RO16.885 billion, up 9.9% year on year, and total FDI at RO32.2 billion. Because this is a later preliminary media-reported release rather than the full official table used above, it is treated as an update signal rather than the main benchmark.
Why do UK and Oman investment statistics look different?
The UK’s Office for National Statistics suppressed the UK outward FDI stock in Oman at the end of 2024 to protect confidentiality. That does not mean the stock was zero. The same UK factsheet reports Omani FDI stock in the UK at only £6 million at the end of 2024, down £55 million or 90.2% from a year earlier.
Oman’s RO16.42 billion UK-source position and the absence of a publishable UK outward-stock number should not be “reconciled” with a guessed explanation. The countries may use different enterprise populations, ownership chains, directional principles, valuation practices, reporting periods and confidentiality rules. Ultimate investor and immediate counterpart can also differ. The defensible approach is to name the source and method beside each statistic.
What the data says—and does not say—about opportunities
| Evidence | Reasonable inference | What cannot be concluded |
|---|---|---|
| Machinery leads UK goods exports | After-sales, inspection, parts and efficiency services may have an installed base | Every equipment category is growing |
| Services are 55.3% of UK exports | Knowledge-intensive delivery is already material | All services can be supplied without local licensing |
| Refined oil is 50.8% of UK goods imports | Import growth is commodity-sensitive | Omani exports are broadly diversified |
| UK is 52.3% of Oman FDI stock | The investment relationship is structurally important | Half of new annual projects are British |
| 2,200 UK goods exporters | The trading base is wider than major corporations | 2,200 UK firms have establishments in Oman |
| UK–GCC FTA negotiations concluded | Future tariff and service friction may fall | Preferences can be claimed today |
The sector conclusions and routes to market are developed in the separate analysis of commercial opportunities for British companies. Current operating examples are classified in the UK company and project status map.
The UK–GCC FTA: how to treat it in a forecast
The conclusion summary says that, once fully implemented, the GCC will liberalise 90% of tariff lines over ten years and approximately 93% of current UK exports to the GCC will ultimately be tariff-free. It also describes commitments in services, investment, digital trade, financial services, clean energy and data. These are UK–GCC aggregate claims, not an Oman-specific forecast.
No benefit should be entered into a live Oman transaction until the agreement is finalised, signed, ratified and in force, and the product’s schedule and origin rule have been checked. Procurement requires extra caution because only Bahrain and the UAE take the initial binding commitments; Oman’s possible participation will be assessed through the agreement’s two-year mechanism.
A reusable method for future updates
- Record the release date, reference period, currency and whether the number is a flow or stock.
- Keep goods, services, commercial presence and FDI in separate series.
- Use unrounded component tables for calculations when available; do not calculate precise growth from rounded chart values.
- Label preliminary and media-reported figures and retain the latest complete official release as the benchmark.
- Investigate outliers at product or transaction level before assigning a cause.
- Distinguish project value, financing capacity, memorandum value, committed capital and deployed capital.
- Check for revisions when the next factsheet is released; the UK factsheet schedules its next update for 24 September 2026.
If the evidence supports a local operation, the practical legal and documentation issues are covered in the separate UK shareholder’s Oman registration guide. The statistics alone should never decide the legal form.
Primary sources and definitions
- UK Department for Business and Trade: Oman trade and investment factsheet, 31 July 2026
- Oman Foreign Ministry: FDI stock by country and activity, end-2025
- Times of Oman: preliminary NCSI FDI figures for Q1 2026
- UK government: UK–GCC trade deal conclusion summary
- Office for National Statistics: UK balance-of-payments methodology
Data note: values are subject to revision. GBP and OMR figures are left in their source currencies; no conversion has been used to create a false comparison between trade flows and investment stocks.

